Hannah Brandt of Hill-Murray named Ms. Hockey

MINNEAPOLIS — Hannah Brandt, a senior forward on the Hill-Murray High School girls’ hockey team was named the winner of the 17th annual Ms. Hockey Award byLet’s Play Hockey newspaper today at the annual Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet. The award, presented to the top girls’ high school hockey player in Minnesota, is based on the following criteria: academics, community/extracurricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

 Considered one of the top players in the nation in her age group, Hannah Brandt led the Pioneers to the No. 1 ranking in Class AA during the season with her state-leading scoring totals of 59-31–90 in 26 games.

The first-ever Ms. Hockey winner from Hill-Murray, Brandt was held without a point in only one game (Dec. 20 at South St. Paul), and posted 22 multi-point and 20 multi-goal games on the year. She notched 13 hat tricks and recorded a trio of six-point games.  A member of the gold medal-winning U.S. Women’s National Under-18 Team at the IIHF World U18 Championship, Brandt helped Hill-Murray to a 25-3-0 overall record and within one win from earning its second straight trip to the state tournament.

A two-year team captain and five-time team MVP, she has been named to the all-state team in four consecutive seasons. Following high school, Brandt will continue her hockey career at the University of Minnesota. “There have been some great female hockey players to play in Minnesota but I truly believe that by the time Hannah finishes her high school, college and international playing career, she will be known as one of the best to have ever played women’s hockey,” Hill-Murray head coach Bill Schafhauser said. “When you combine her physical talents with her innate ability to anticipate plays before they even take place, you will see one of the best players in the world at her age group.” 

Along with being an excellent hockey player, Brandt is also a top-notch student. She holds a 3.924 GPA in a rigorous curriculum with honors courses in math, English, biology, chemistry and Spanish. She earned the Hill-Murray Gold Service award for 40-plus service experiences, volunteering for several community organizations.

In addition, Brandt is a two-time letterwinner for the Pioneer soccer team. “Hannah is a member of the National Honor Society and volunteers her time to numerous community service causes that range from teaching young kids to skate to being an advocate for the homeless,” Schafhauser said.

The other finalists for Ms. Hockey were forwards Hanna Brodt of Roseville and Jonna Curtis of Elk River/Zimmerman, and defensemen Milica McMillen of Breck and Lee Stecklein of Roseville. Past winners include Karley Sylvester of Warroad (2011), Bethany Brausen of Roseville (2010) Becky Kortum of Hopkins (2009), Sarah Erickson of Bemidji (2008), Katharine Chute of Blake (2007), Allie Thunstrom of North St. Paul (2006), Gigi Marvin of Warroad (2005), Erica McKenzie of Hastings (2004), Andrea Nichols of Hibbing/Chisholm (2003), Ashley Albrecht of South St. Paul (2002), Renee Curtin of Roseville (2001), Krissy Wendell of Park Center (2000), Ronda Curtin of Roseville (1999), Laura Slominski of Burnsville (1998), Annamarie Holmes of Apple Valley (1997) and Winny Brodt of Roseville (1996). 

The 17th annual award, selected based on consultations with a panel of high school coaches, and Division I and III college coaches from Minnesota and Wisconsin, is sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild, Shock Doctor and DCS Image.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.