Hill Murray wins Schwan’s Cup Gold title

In a championship game that was as evenly played as possible from the opening whistle, Willie Brown scored the winning shot in the overtime shootout to give Hill-Murray its second Schwan Cup Gold Championship.


Hill-Murray jumped ahead 2-0 in the second period on goals by Zach Mills and Mitch Slattery. But consecutive goals by the Cadets’ Alex Johnson and Alex Broetzman tied the game 2-2 heading into the third period.


The teams traded goals again, with Sam Becker scoring for the Pioneers and Gunnar Regan matching him just three minutes later. After a scoreless overtime, Hill-Murray won the three-player shootout 2-1.


Both teams recorded 38 shots on goal, and the entire game was penalty free.


Boys’ Gold High School Division

Wednesday, December 26 (Quarterfinals):

Game 1: Hill-Murray 2, Minnetonka 1.

Game 2: Burnsville 3, Blaine 1.

Game 3: Breck 2, Duluth East 0.

Game 4: St. Thomas Academy 2, Edina 1 (OT).

Thursday, December 27:

Game 5 (consolation): Minnetonka 6, Blaine 2.

Game 6 (consolation): Duluth East 4, Edina 1.

Game 7 (Semi-final #1): Hill-Murray 7, Burnsville 2.

Game 8 (Semi-final #2): St. Thomas Academy 2, Breck 1.

Friday, December 28:

Game 9 (consolation): Edina 3, Blaine 2. (overtime)

Game 10 (consolation championship): Minnetonka vs. Duluth East, 3:30 p.m., Schwan Super Rink #3.

Game 11 (third place): Burnsville 5, Breck 4.

Game 12 (championship): Hill-Murray 3, St. Thomas Academy 3 (Hill-Murray wins overtime shootout.)


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.