The Vikings and Super Bowl Futility

By playing in and winning Super Bowl XLIV on Sunday, the New Orleans Saints crossed themselves off two dreaded lists:

1. Teams that had never played in a Super Bowl.
2. Teams that have never won a Super Bowl.

The Vikings – as we are all painfully aware – still find themselves on the latter list after 49 seasons. All told, 14 teams have never held the Lombardi Trophy:

Vikings, Buffalo Bills, Philadelphia Eagles, Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, Arizona Cardinals, Seattle Seahawks, Cincinnati Bengals, Tennessee Titans, San Diego Chargers, Detroit Lions, Cleveland Browns, Jacksonville Jaguars and Houston Texans.

Where does that put the Purple in terms of title futility? Well, the Lions, Browns, Jaguars and Texans have never appeared in the Big Game, but the Jaguars and Texans are expansion teams that began play in 1995 and 2002. Only the Vikings (4), Bills (4), Eagles (2) and Bengals (2) have lost multiple Super Bowls without winning one.

The Bills, Panthers, Cardinals, Bengals and Titans have all come within an eyelash of glory losing painfully close Super Bowls. The Vikes best effort came in Super Bowl IX when they lost to Pittsburgh 16-6. The game wasn’t really even that close.

Since the Vikings last played on sports’ biggest stage in January 1977, the Eagles (2), Chargers, Falcons and Seahawks have all won conference titles. So when you figure the Vikes are tied with Buffalo for most Super Bowl losses without a win, never came close in any of them and haven’t appeared in the Big Game in 33 years…well at least we are better off than Lions and Browns fans.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.